Affirmations to balance the 7 chakras

Emily Whitton
By Emily Whitton,
updated on May 9, 2024

Woman stood in the mountains looking up with her hands under her chin in a praying pose.

Whether you're feeling a little out of kilter, or you want to continue to keep your chakras working in harmony, these affirmations can help restore energy and bring back balance to the seven chakras

The chakras are considered to be the main energy centres in our bodies, running from our heads down to the base of our spine. ‘Chakra’ is a Sanskrit word, meaning ‘wheel’ or ‘disc’ - referring to these energy vortexes. 

There are seven main chakras in the body, and each has its own emotional and spiritual benefits, related to a particular aspect of life. In order for the chakras to function at their best and clear stuck energy, they need to remain open and free from blockages. 

If your chakras become blocked, this may show up in physical and emotional symptoms. For example, you might experience tension and pain, or feel clouded by negative emotions. 

Fortunately, there are ways to keep the chakras balanced through various techniques such as breathing exercises, meditation, visualisation, crystals and much more. Affirmations may also help to maintain a healthy energy flow around the body. Below are some affirmations to keep the seven chakras aligned, from top to bottom. 

1. The crown chakra

The crown chakra, located at the top of the head, is believed to be where our intuition and inner wisdom sit. With this in mind, the key affirmation for this chakra is “I understand.”  Some crown chakra affirmations include:

  • I am open to new ideas.
  • Information I need comes to me easily.
  • I am connected with the wisdom of the universe.
  • The world is my teacher. 

2. The third eye chakra 

Focused on being in the present moment and our ability to focus, the third eye chakra is located between the eyes. The main affirmation for the third eye chakra is “I see.”

  • I am a present observer in my life.
  • I am grateful for my inner vision.
  • I am able to see the beauty and wonder of the world with clarity and depth. 
  • Seeing and understanding the big picture comes naturally to me.

3. The throat chakra 

The throat chakra is connected to effective communication and self-expression. The key affirmation for this chakra is “I speak.” 

  • I stay calm and collected when I speak. 
  • I am a confident speaker.
  • I speak my truth confidently and with grace.
  • I am a good listener. 

4. The heart chakra 

Associated with love and empathy, our heart chakra is located in our chest. The key affirmation is “I love.” 

  • I find love everywhere I go.
  • I attract good, loving, kind people into my life. 
  • I am worthy of love and accept it with open arms. 
  • I am grateful for having loving people in my life. 

5. The solar plexus chakra 

Located between the chest and upper abdomen, the solar plexus energy supports our overall self-esteem and how in control we feel in our lives. The key affirmation is “I do.” 

  • I feel calm, confident and powerful. 
  • I forgive myself for past mistakes and learn from them.
  • I am capable of achieving my goals. 
  • I am aligned with my purpose. 

6. The sacral chakra 

The sacral chakra is associated with our sexual fulfilment and emotional intelligence. The key affirmation is “I feel.” 

  • I invite joy into my life. 
  • I honour and respect my body. 
  • I allow myself to experience pleasure in all aspects of my life. 
  • I trust my loved ones. 

7. The root chakra 

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and provides us with a foundation for life. It helps us feel grounded and be more resilient. The key affirmation is “I am.”

  • I am connected to the earth. 
  • I am grateful.
  • I am confident in my identity. 
  • I am secure in my being. 

How to practise chakra affirmations effectively 

The above affirmations can help restore energy flow through the chakras and bring back balance and harmony to the body. To get the most out of this practice, it’s best to dedicate time to it and follow these simple steps: 

  • Sit comfortably. You can say your affirmations seated or lying down. Keep your back straight and find the position you feel most relaxed in. 
  • Close your eyes. Keeping your eyes shut as you say your affirmations can help you focus your attention inward and prevent distractions from things around you. 
  • Take deep breaths. Breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth. On the inhale, you can repeat the affirmation in your head and release any negative thoughts as you exhale. 
  • Focus on the chakra. Target a specific chakra that you want to work with. Some people like to visualise a glowing light in their body at the location of the chakra. 
  • Allow yourself to feel the energy. Imagine the chakra’s energy becoming stronger with each breath you take. 
  • Finish with a gratitude practice. After a few minutes of repeating affirmations, end with some more deep breaths and express gratitude. 

Learn more about the chakras and why they need balancing on Therapy Directory.

Join 100,000+ subscribers

Stay in the loop with everything Happiful

We care about your data, read our privacy policy
Our Vision

We’re on a mission to create a healthier, happier, more sustainable society.